to be honest with you guys..cai....gto 05

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• to be honest with you guys..cai....gto 05

i studied, read up on the gto forum, read the "got my cai...awesome" posts.....

i wouldnt post this there.....but i think they wasted thier money.

for one, a flat filter flows better than a cone filter, thats a given in the cfm world......

the 05 airbox draws cold air, around the head light and the fender well.... thats where the inlets are. when you buy the cai for the 05 goat, you get the snorkle from some, with no isolation from the engine compartment: ie: hot air intake...... the better aftermarket ones have a "hood" that isolates it and has it draw air from the same dern place the o.e. box does.

tonight, i did my first mod. i got my k&n replacement filter (the just came out with it for the ls2). i removed the air box and drilled addtional holes in strategic places where the cold air is available, they are 1/4" diameter holes... then i installed the new k&n.

i think its as good if not better than any cai for this car, just my 2 centavos .........

on wit da show......

The Goldens: Reno and Rocky

2008 C6, M6, LS3, Corsa Extreme C/B, (it flys) & 2008 Yukon loaded (Titanic), 03 Ford Focus..everydaydriver.

Wolfdog Rescue Resources, Inc.:http://www.wrr-inc.org
    Home Page: http://www.renokeo.com
    sold: 97 Firehawk, 97 Comp T/A, 2005 GTO, 2008 Solstice GXP turbo.

I'm not familiar with what the GTO looks like under the hood... could you snap a few pics if you get time? Just curious to see how the intake all works...

Thanks!
    1997 Trans Am WS6 Black M6
    370 RWHP / 352 TQ
    CC306 & Comp behives, LT1 Extreme Duty timing set, 1.6 RR's, CSR Elec Water Pump, Pacesetter LT's & ORY, GMMG w/ Ovals, K&N, Air Foil, TB Bypass, !AIR, !EGR, !CAGS, 160 deg thermo, LT4 KM, PCM tuning by Total-ReCal, March Pullies, Pro 5.0, 4.11 gears, LS1 alum DS, BMR strut tower brace, UMI SFC's, LCA's w/relo brackets & panhard

Comment