A window into the life of a salesman

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A window into the life of a salesman

Some of you know that I'm a hardcore musician, what many of you don't know is that I also manage a teaching studio and retail establishment. I've been doing this for 18 years and most of it is routine for me and I don't really have to think about the job... it just happens. The part that makes me laugh is the mentality of the general public. Sometimes I think the majority of the population is either ignorant or just plain rude. It thought I would share some snippets of daily conversations that you folks may get a kick out of.

First one:

As I walk toward the front of the shop with furniture polish and a couple of rags in hand to do a little cleanup, A customer up front is admiring the merchandise. So as I walk past I say:

"Good Morning." the person says: "No thanks, I'm just looking."

A customer is up front checking out one of the products (plays terrible), so I greet him and ask how long he's been playing. He proceeds to tell me his life story and how he got into the wrong type of lessons and failed. He sort of hacks his way though things and wishes he could do better. So I say:

"Our company has been helping students learn to play since 1905, we could help you learn exactly what you desire. We have special classes that help people learn the basics so that they can persue the music of their choice after that. "
    customer replies: "We only live here 6 months out of the year and we're not buying an instrument!"

I'm up at the front of the store, I just finish playing a song, and basically I'm frankly a little bored, but in a good mood. A customer walks by and I simply say "What's your favorite song, let's see if I know it." (keep in mind I can probably do a thousand titles). The customer puts his hand up toward my face like he's stiff arming me and says: "Not today"