Our new house....

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Our new house....

Actually, it isn't quite ours yet, but we should be closing on it some time in April after it is completed. My wife and I have been renting for the last 6 years since we got married. We finally decided it was time to buy. After looking at several pre-owned homes, and missing out on one that we thought we were going to get, we decided to go ahead and buy new. This one is located in Aubrey, Texas, which is about 25 miles north-east of Dallas. There are several new home developments practically out in the middle of nowhere in this area, and the deals are great compared to the areas that are more developed. The house is 3 BR, 2bath, 2 car garage, about 1741 Sq ft. It will have 10 ft ceilings, all rounded corners on the inside walls, stainless steel appliances, seperate tub & shower in the master bath, a study at the front of the house (where the bay window is), and a few upgrades. We are paying right around 141K for it.
    It is going to be a big jump from our current rent to paying that mortgage, but I am just sick of throwing money away on renting. We have spent probably 15-16 thousand dollars over the last 2 years on renting. I wish that could have been going to building some equity...but better late than never. We are nervously excited about it. I think once we get past the first few months and prove to ourselves that we can handle the payment and be responsible adults (we are both over 30 now ) with our spending, we will be able to fully enjoy the house. Here are some pics....

This is the first time we saw it, about a week ago.

Today, about a week later. I was surprised how much progress they made.

This will be our kitchen, with the island framed up.

The living room. I think that diagonal board is temporary.