Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice please: 1995 Camaro Convertible v6. to V8, or not?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice please: 1995 Camaro Convertible v6. to V8, or not?

I'm new to this site and I was cruising through the threads for info on a V6 to V8 conversion. I came across a thread where the v8 guys were trying to convince the v6 owner to just sell the car and buy a stock LT1 instead. I respect and understand this advice, but I think my case is a little different. Tell me if I'm wrong.

First, I got this 1995 Camaro Convertible with a brand new top in a trade for my 1994 Ford Ranger. Don't ask how or why, it just happened that way. So, I sorta got this Camaro handed to me. Nothing terribly wrong with it either... its just in desperate need of a brake job.

Second, I love the convertible and I don't want a hardtop/t-top.

Third, I'd like to keep this car for a while. Even if I buy something else as a daily driver, I don't want to give up my f-body. With that said, I really like the idea of dropping a v8 and tougher tranny in that has zero miles on it instead of getting a LT1 that has a used and worn out engine.

Forth, and probably the most convincing. My father, a fellow car enthusiast, has a 350ci 4 bolt main, and a steel crank sitting in his garage that he said he would give to me. I understand that even with the block and crank, I'm looking at $4k, $5k, or maybe $6k for this conversion.

Ideally, I'd like a streetable 400-450hp. What would that be in a 1/4 mile? 12 seconds? Please give me your opinions/advice. I welcome it all... the good and the bad.
    1995 Camaro Convertible V6 - contemplating swapping out for LT1 or begin the V6 to V8 conversion. Hmmmm...

put a supercharger on that hoss, not only would you be a sleeper, but you would be streetable and save on gas. I think it would be around 400hp right? but yeah supercharge it.

87 z28 w/93 LT1 and 700r4

Comment