3800 V6 upgrades

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3800 V6 upgrades

i am kinda new to all this. i recently bought a 1999 firebird with the 3800 series 2 v6. it isnt quite enough power, however, i can't afford a 350 (which is what id like to do) or a supercharger (as i havent found one for under 3 grand). im sure i wouldnt like my insurance with that 350 in there anyway. is there anything else that i can do to increase power at the rear wheels

on another forum i saw a guy who customized his transmission to shift harder, and when it does shift it doesnt lose as many RPMs. is this probably just a shift kit, or is there something else you have to do to the tranny.

if anyone could help me out id really appreciate it!!!

A shift kit would definately be a good mod, but it won't give you any more power, per se. It may feel a little more powerful because of the firmer, quicker shifts, but you aren't making any more power. I'd start with the basics like Cold air induction and cat-back exhaust. You can always move to headers, rocker arms, etc.... Suspension upgrades are always good too but again, they don't produce more power.... but they may get you more power to the ground and make the car more fun to drive. Visit some of this site's sponsors, most have a V6 section. When the time comes, you can always strap a supercharger on there. Best to have a good foundation for it anyways, though (intake/exhaust/suspension)
    Dave M
    Life, liberty, and the pursuit of all who threaten it!

Comment

Good points in the post above... first you need to up the engine's power, then get it to the rear wheels in the correct "form" and keep those wheels hooked to the pavement.

As far as increasing power, you need to look at the same steps that people are using to imporve their 350's.... it might be harder to find the parts though.
      -cold air intake
      -throttle body coolant bypass (if they have coolant on the V6 TB)
      -underdrive crank pulley