X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mobil One too thin?????

Hi all,
    I just read over on LS1tech.com on a conversation about Mobil
    One 5w30 being too thin for the LS1 engine.
    I have been using it since I bought my 2002 Firehawk and I don't
    want something to go wrong with it.
    I had no problems that I can tell yet. I change my oil every 3 months because of habit. I never reach 3,000 miles. I use Mobil
    One 5w30 tri-syn. and K&N oil filter.
    Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Adam H. 2002 T/A Firehawk #536 M6

It comes with Mobil 1 from the factory - GM has used it on Vettes since C4 and the F-car started using it in 02. Its OK. You don't need to change syntehtic every 3000 miles-it doesn't break down like dyno oil. As long as the filter is catching all of the junk in the oil, no problem.

Comment

the thickness of the oil is the same whether it is synthetic or non sythetic, the 5w-30 rating is there for a reason. The real debate is in regards to high mileage engines. The physical molecule of the synthetic oil is smaller and may start leaking past the seals in high mileage motors. Mobil 1 came out with a high mileage formula to combat this problem.

Comment

i got a nice ocean front piece of property to sell you in Nevada...interested?

The Goldens: Reno and Rocky

2008 C6, M6, LS3, Corsa Extreme C/B, (it flys) & 2008 Yukon loaded (Titanic), 03 Ford Focus..everydaydriver.

Wolfdog Rescue Resources, Inc.:http://www.wrr-inc.org
        Home Page: http://www.renokeo.com
        sold: 97 Firehawk, 97 Comp T/A, 2005 GTO, 2008 Solstice GXP turbo.

Comment

Originally posted by JeffY
          . You don't need to change syntehtic every 3000 miles-it doesn't break down like dyno oil. As long as the filter is catching all of the junk in the oil, no problem.