New user

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New user

Hi all. Thought I might introduce myself. I'm new to this messaging stuff although I've been an internet surfer for years. I don't belong to any other internet message boards. I bought this 2001 Camaro last year because it was immaculate, low miles, and the price was right. However, it's got a 3.8L V-6 under the hood and that just won't cut it for too much longer. I've already started making upgrades to the suspension, i.e., tubular LCA's and panhard rod, strut tower brace, behemoth sway bars, and sub-frame connectors. Added a Hurst pro billet shifter 'cuz the stock throw was waaaaay too long. I really want to add two more cylinders (think LS1) and could use any advise/comments/dreads anyone might like to post on this subject.

I would go with a supercharger before the engine swap, or go with an LS1 Z28. The swap requires, motor, transmission, computer, harness, motor mounts, front springs, etc. I would only go through the pain and agony of an engine swap if I was moving up to a big block with an aftermarket PCM.
    '77 K5 rock-crawler project
    '79 T/A: WS6, 400 4sp, 40K miles; Completely stock and original
    '87 Lifted 3/4 ton Suburban (Big Blue) plow truck
    '94 Roadmaster Wagon (The Roadmonster) 200,000 miles and still going
    '97 T/A: (SLP 1LE Suspension, SB, & sfc(s), Loudmouth); 4.10s; B&M Ripper; R/A Hood; ZR1s
    My daily drivers: '06 Jeep Liberty CRD (wife); '01 Yukon Denali XL (me); '03 Stratus Coupe (me)

I predict future happiness for Americans if they can prevent the government from wasting the labors of the people under the pretense of taking care of them.
    Thomas Jefferson

Comment