Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Let's talk ignitions...

Hey all....

Again, let me remind all of you I'm still learning all I can about F-bod's in general.... so bare with me

A few basic questions :

1) What would the benefits be of upgrading to an aftermarket ignition like an MSD?

2) Will it work with the optispark?

3) Would this even be a good mod for me to attempt?

4) If you answered 'yes' to # 3, what kind of ignition would you recommend?

Thanks all!
    1997 Trans Am WS6 Black M6
    370 RWHP / 352 TQ
    CC306 & Comp behives, LT1 Extreme Duty timing set, 1.6 RR's, CSR Elec Water Pump, Pacesetter LT's & ORY, GMMG w/ Ovals, K&N, Air Foil, TB Bypass, !AIR, !EGR, !CAGS, 160 deg thermo, LT4 KM, PCM tuning by Total-ReCal, March Pullies, Pro 5.0, 4.11 gears, LS1 alum DS, BMR strut tower brace, UMI SFC's, LCA's w/relo brackets & panhard

1. The benefits are very small unless your running something like nitrous or forced induction.

2. Yes, most after-market system will work with the Opti. However, I have heard (have seen no proof of this myself) that after-market ignition systems do shorten the life of the Opti.

3. I see you don't have headers, I would recommend spending money on those first before any kind of ignition system.

4.(for the heck of it) IMO I like Accel and on paper they seem to give the biggest increase in power. But In reality MSD, Accel, and other companies like Crane Cams are all in the same league.
    1995 Camaro Z28 Convertible.

Comment

Originally posted by Cerwin Vega Fan

2. Yes, most after-market system will work with the Opti. However, I have heard (have seen no proof of this myself) that after-market ignition systems do shorten the life of the Opti.

The rotors tend to fry when subjected to multispark/capacitive discharge at 6500 rpm and up. I've had mine for over 40K miles with 0 problems, but I am using it at the stock rpm limits.

Comment

you mean optispark wont hold?

Joe: