Anyone taken the ASE exams.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone taken the ASE exams.

I have never gotten my ASE's. Personally I think ASE certification is a complete joke. I am in the process of taking the exams to get my master tech certification for teaching. I got a study guide for the first test - Engine repair. I realize I am young (24) and not as experienced as some , but I like to think I am pretty good around a car. I work as a competent tech in my summers. But these exams are ridiculous! They PURPOSEFULLY try to trick you. The tests are the complete opposite of what I have come to know (as an educator) as a good test.

Ex. question: (This is only one of many ridiculous questions)

You are diagnosing a vehicle that cranks but does not start. The first thing you check is:

a. battery voltage
    b. compression
    c. valve train operation
    d. vacuum

Now if this where me, of these answers are right. I usually start with spark, but the most logical here in my opinion is compression. BUT NO! The correct answer is (c). Now who the heck pulls a valve cover to check valve train operation on a no start first?? Ridiculous! I am ranting again. Anyone else experience these tests?
    96 WS6 Formula: Ram Air, 383 Stroker, Ported LT4 Heads and Manifold, 1.6 Crane Rollers, 58MM T.B., AS&M Headers, Borla Exhaust, Meziere Elec. H2O Pump, Canton Deep Sump Oil Pan, 100 HP OF TNT N2O!! , T56 Conversion w/ Pro 5.0 shifter, SPEC Stage 3 Clutch, Hotchkiss Subframe Conn., Lakewood Adj. Panhard Bar, Spohn Adj. LCA's, BMR Adj. T.A., Custom 12 bolt w/ 3:73's, Moser Axles, Eaton Posi, Moser Girdle
    11.6 @ 123mph (1.6 60' - getting there )

Does sound quite odd (I would start the same as you, check the ignition/fuel systems with that scenario)...but if you look at it from a work vs. pay stand point...go for the most difficult and costly fix first? LOL, I dunno.

KnightFire
    1993 Formula Firebird
    Check Homepage for mods and photos...