No announcement yet.

Car is in for service, advice needed...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Car is in for service, advice needed...

So, I have been driving ith my SES light on for close to two years now. I know, dumb, but I knew pretty much what it was and that I couldn't afford the fix. Now I have to have it inspected by well...today, and so it has to get fixed. The cause of the light is the fuel evap cannister and an O2 sensor that need to be replaced. The dealership quoted me at $678 to do that. They also said that it needs a new serpentine belt, a new fuel filter, the throttle body needs to be cleaned because it has "alot of syrupy build up in it," the spark plugs (which I changed last year, using iridium tipped plugs) aren't stock, so they should be changed...not too sure what the heck that means, the plug wires are getting worn and need changing, and I forget what else.
    Ok, so I have let the maintenance on that thing slip, but they were wanting $1450 to do all of that. I honestly don't think I need to replace the plugs that I just replaced a year ago just because they aren't OEM, unless you guys can tell me differently??? The wires, I know I can do myself for less than the $255 they quoted me on that. The throttle body....I could easily do that, right? Could someone who is familiar with that explain to me how do go about it? They wanted $89 to do it.
    I went ahead and tol them to do the fuel filter, the belt, and to change that cannister and the O2 sensor. Am I getting raped at $850 for this? I checked around at a few places that weren't dealerships, and got pretty much the same quote. I really wish that I would have just gotten it replaced when it first went wrong. I can't afford the $850, it is almost all going on my credit card. I definitely can't afford to have them do the other stuff.