Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1996 T/A WS6 Won't Start

Hey guys,
    I'm a newb to this forum and I'm a recent F-Body buyer. I got a 1996 T/A WS6 M6 a couple weeks ago. All was starting, running, and driving ok until last night. I took off the positive battery cable to hook up my amp wire, wired the entire stereo up, and now the car will not start. I did not blow any fuses, short anything, or anything of that sort.

The car cranks and cranks and for 1/2 a second, it seems to start but it will die immediately. I have a feeling its in the optispark system because i have fuel pressure (used a guage) and I don't have any restrictions in the air filter.

I went through all the diagnosics online I could find. I checked the ICM for voltage, the coil for resistance and voltage, all the grounds I could find, etc. The only thing I cannot do is check the ECM, as I don't know how or who does it.

Is there anything else I may have missed or could there be another issue I overlooked? I know it could be the PassKey thing but I reset the computer and tried again but no luck, and the Security light turns off after the key is on...

One more thing, I never get a SES light. Maybe the bulb was pulled before I bought the car? How would I check? The only one I get is "Check Gauges."

TIA
    Keith Kimmerly
    -96 WS6

You have the scan the PCM with an OBD-II code scanner. That will tell you if there are any codes set, including one for a missing or burned out SES light.
    Fred

381ci all-forged stroker - 10.8:1 - CNC LT4 heads/intake - CC solid roller - MoTeC engine management - 8 LS1 coils - 58mm TB - 78# injectors - 300-shot dry nitrous - TH400 - Gear Vendor O/D - Strange 12-bolt - 4.11's - AS&M headers - duals - Corbeau seat - AutoMeter gauges - roll bar - Spohn suspension - QA1 shocks - a few other odds 'n ends. 800HP/800lb-ft at the flywheel, on a 300-shot. 11.5 @ 117MPH straight motor

Comment