What's composite in a late F?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's composite in a late F?

Hey guys. Had a quick question since I'm new to the whole non-metal major body parts, coming from a Grand Am. What portions of the 93-02 F-body cars are metal and what isn't? I know the front fenders, rear bumper and nose are not metal but what other portions are composite?
    1997 Pontiac Grand Am, 216k+ miles and still moving fast
    2004 Pontiac Grand Am SCT, but 35k on the clock
    1983 Male Driver, driving Front Wheel Drive only, for now

doors i beleive
    2009 Honda Civic EX- the daily beater

old toys - 1983 trans am, 1988 trans am, 1986 IROC-Z, 2002 Ram Off-Road, 1984 K10, 1988 Mustang GT, 2006 Silverado 2500HD

Comment

It might be easier to give a list of sections that are metal....

Hood & Rear Quarter Panels

Everything else should be composite. This applies to '93 to '02 model years.

Personally I like the composite panels even though GM has moved away from them. After almost 10 years the composite panels on my '96 looked new. The rear quarters had dents from doors of other cars.

Composite panels expand and contract more in differing temperatures and GM had to increase the panel gap when using them. So it doesn't look as nice as metal when new. Just compare the Saturn Ion to the Chevy Cobalt and you can get an idea as to why GM limited their use.
      Joe K.
      '11 BMW 328i
      '10 Matrix S AWD
      Previously: '89 Plymouth Sundance Turbo, '98 Camaro V6, '96 Camaro Z28, '99 Camaro Z28, '04 Grand Prix GTP

Comment

Originally posted by Joe K. 99 Zeee!!
        Personally I like the composite panels even though GM has moved away from them. After almost 10 years the composite panels on my '96 looked new. The rear quarters had dents from doors of other cars.
        I can relate. Mine's a 96 and the only dent it has is on the right-rear quarter.