header burns threw plugwire

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• header burns threw plugwire

need help asap im drivin to kentucky fri! ok next time i want to modify or work on my car kick me in the nuts and have a profesional do it. i was checking my header bolts as a few backed out earlier and was just checkin them and noticed some flashing under the driver side header. it looks like the header burned threw the wire which could help explain why its been running like crap. now im no mechanic ( but i do know the difference between brake fluid and oil ) but how should i go about this. can i just change one wire or do i have to change all( only have about 8k on plugs and wires). is it a easy job or a PITA? also how do i go about rerouting them with out takin the header off? can it be done? Im an idiot i know.

97 ws6 6sp 40k miles 355 cubes strange s 60 rear 373 gears. other stuff! 360rwhp

current
    2006 GMC Denali 6.0 AWD!!!! hers

i know some of you are shakin your head and saying idiot. i know cause i am

97 ws6 6sp 40k miles 355 cubes strange s 60 rear 373 gears. other stuff! 360rwhp

current

Comment

When was the last time the wires were replaced? If they have over 50K miles on them, they all should be replaced. When you replace them, dress them better around the headers, and put "fire sleeves" on the areas where they run too close to the headers. That will keep them from burning through.

Going to an "over the valve cover" approach helps with some header designs.

If the wires are fairly new, and there is no evidence of many others sparking, replacing one wire, with an identical wire, is no problem.

In any case, its a bit of dogwork to change them. Removing the alternator generally makes it easier but without knowing anything about the headers, and whether any of the wires were replace previously its hard to give you step by step instructions.