newbie with a question.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie with a question.

Hey guys I am new to the f body world I converted from fox bodys, (got tired of being beat by near stock Lt1s and Ls1's My car is a 93 firebird and motor is stock, besides tb, cai. The car runs great cold and as it warms up it starts to miss between 1,000-2,000 rpms under half throttle, at WOT it runs great and at little throttle its great. I popped the hood at night and when I rev it up you can see electic flashes under the alt. Right around the plug wire or the plug. My question is this, Is it the plug wires arching (they oems) is it a plug that is grounding, or could it be the cap cracked??? any help would be great.. thanks

Welcome to the site, welcome to the F-Body and welcome to the exciting world of the LT1.......

How many miles on the engine?

If you see sparks its most likely a combination of spark plug gaps that are too wide and plug wires that are broken down. If you don't know the age of the plugs and wires, and feel that they may be "original" (= 16 years old), condsider replacement as the first step in returning your engine to top condition. The OEM AC/Delco plugs are know to lose the little platinum pucks on the electrodes, opening up the gap way too wide. The OEM Packard wires are very good, but the will get "old". The NGK TR55 Iridium plugsd are a good replacement. Lots of opinion on wires, but I like the MSD 8.5mm Superconductors - a tight fit in the stock routing, though.