Hard to start after 10+ days

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hard to start after 10+ days

Went overseas early December and left my TA at the airport in the parking garage for 10 days. When I came back the engined cranked fine (good battery) but would not start until I cranked for almost 30 seconds total. Ever since it started fine every day or after a weekend.

After the x-mas Holidays, over 10 days sitting in the garage with the lowest temp maybe 50 deg. at some nights, it did the same thing. I had to crank for a long time and eventually it started. Tonight after work just started fine again.

Anybody has an idea what could cause this or what I should check?
    97 Trans Am A4 more or less stock (Mods: WS6 Ram Air with Fernco & K&N, 12 disc CD changer, power antenna, SLP Fan Switch, LS1 Aluminum DS, Borla Cat back, McCord power plate, Spohn tower brace, Sirius, HID fog lights)

1and1 Web Hosting

I'm by no means an expert, but if it's cranking strong, the first thing that comes to mind is a leaky injector. When it starts, is there any smoke (white or black) present in the exhaust?

Leaking injectors cause a flooded condition to exist in the cylinder(s).

Also, do you store the car with a full tank of gas? If the tank is low, condensation can and will build up in the tank causing water to form in the gas. This can also cause issues. If the car is filled with summer gas, it contains additives that cause it to volatilize at a different rate than winter mix gas. Something else to consider.
    Al 96 Ram Air T/A