This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newcomer

Whats up everybody, I am new to this page. I am only 17 years old and have a 95 Trans Am that i pay $400 a month for. It is still all stock. I am going to put 4.10 gears in it and flowmaster cat-back exhaust with no cats and hooker longtube headers this spring. I have a low budget. Do any of you EXPERTS have any advice. Anything would be appreciated.

The BANDIT

Welcome!
    I'm assuming you have an M6 because you want to put in such low gears into it. I would recommend what everyone else would say as your first mods: a good cold air kit (k&n, Moroso, or SLP) and a good cat-back system (SLP 2 on the left, SLP loudmouth - which is LOUD, Borla - which is adjustable in sound because it has its own cutout, and a few others). If you're on a budget, I would suggest the SLP Loudmouth, not the flowmaster system IMHO. Those 2 mods are good for .3 in the quarter mile, and possibly 20-30 hp.
    Now, onto the cat(s). Where was your car originally from? If it was from California, then you're right with the dual cats. If it's from outside of CA, then your car has 1 cat because it's a '95. If you remove your cat, you will lose backpressure, and the advantages/disadvantages are arguable. For example, I have heard someone put a Carsound cat in place of a 3" offroad pipe, and gain 1 mph in the quarter mile.
    As far as the gears go, if you're going with 4.10s, you'd better have some traction. I've read many people say 1st gear is way too low for stock tires with 4.10s. So I would suggest a good set of sticky tires, then get all the Spohn suspension parts you can afford - particularly the lower control arms. Then maybe the panhard bar and torque arm. Ask Ken (wolfman) about the tires - he's the expert.