Cat removal (First post)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cat removal (First post)

Hi guys this is my first time posting here but I read through some posts earlier. You seem to be well informed on mods to your F-bodies. I've had a SES light on for a while so I took my T/A to autozone and had them run their scantool on it. It came back with catalyst below threshold on bank2. The guys there didn't know what it was and neither did I so I took it do a dealer. They told me the right cat was bad. And wanted over $500 just for the GM cat, not counting labor.
    I now live in a county that does not require emission testing. So I was thinking of just getting rid of the cats. Do I need to get something to fool the computer into thinking that I am running cats if I do this? While I'm at it I want to get a different muffler(something a little louder). Is their a big difference between buying a cat back or just buying a muffler and having a shop bend some tube for me? I read through some of the earlier posts on the cat backs but still haven't made up my mind on which one I want. I saw that some of you have taken the cats off but obd2 appearantly has sensors for them. Also are there any fit issues on installing a cat back if you don't have cats?

Sorry the post is so long.

Thanks,
    Jim

I would first check the rear O2 sensors, maybe they can do it at autozone again? Check to see that the 2nd O2 (downstream) is mirroring the upstream O2 (with a little delay) on that bank. If the downstream O2 is not functioning right, it will throw the code, and the CAT may be fine.