Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Flowmaster Vs. Magnaflow, need feedback please...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flowmaster Vs. Magnaflow, need feedback please...

Here's the deal. I have a flowmaster 80-series muffler and lately it has died on me. After only having it for about a year and a half, the baffle on the inside of it has broken causing this awful rattling noise. Now I already have a 3" mandrel bent intermediate pipe, 2.5" tail pipes, and dual 3" tips, so as you can see I'm not looking for a whole new entire cat-back system. I only want a muffler. Here is the problem. I loved the aggressive tone of the Flowmaster but I didn't like the idea of it flaking out on me after only a year and a half, especially when it only comes with a one year warranty. Thats where the Magnaflow comes in. The Magnaflow has a lifetime warranty, but the guy at the muffler shop said that it will be a little bit quieter than the flowmaster. I'm afraid to take my chances with the Magnaflow because I like loud, aggressive sounding exhausts, but I am tempted to because of the warranty. Also, the Magnaflow doesn't have any baffles or anything like that inside of it so wouldn't it flow a little better too? I'm confused and can't make up my mind. Anyone heard a Magnaflow compared to a Flowmaster before? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated here.

BTW, I'm just curious. Why would the Magnaflow be quieter when it has no baffles on the inside as opposed to the flowmaster?

i personlay like flowmaster and it is definietely a lot louder then the magnaflow..i got the flowmaster on my v-6 firebirds and it makes it sound real good..i havent had an experience with a magnaflow but i have heard them before and if you want loud then go flowmaster..
    1998 v-6 Firebird, t-tops...
    mods: flowmaster exhaust, K&N air filter, 3.73 gears, cold air induction, whisper lid, ac delco rapidfire spark plugs- running with mobile 1 synthetic