Price of 95 bird with knock?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Price of 95 bird with knock?

I'm new to the f-bodies and was wondering how much this car is worth. 95 firebird, auto, is it the lt1 engine? anyways it has a knock in the motor, but the body is mint and so is the interior, 156,000 miles, 17 torq thrusts with new tires. He is asking 3000, but i think i can get it for 1800 cash, cuz he said he needs money badly. Is this too much? Thanks for any info.

If it is a firebird, then it is a V6. If it says Formula or Trans Am on the side, then it's the LT1 V8. Your best way of telling is getting under the hood and counting spark plug wires.

As far as the knock, I'd get a mechanic to look it over, not just for the knock but for general condition too. If it's an LT1, I'd say tat price is alright even with a knock. Not great though. For a V6, I'd say no. There is someone on this board I believe selling a very nice TA for $3700.

Personally I'd steer clear of this car (the one you mentioned, not the one I mentioned). 156,000 is a lot of miles, and you never know how much money you have to throw at that knock problem. I'd keep searching. Something better you can afford is bound to come up.
    Dave M
    Life, liberty, and the pursuit of all who threaten it!

Comment

Yeah, not to mention all of the other problems taht are bound to occur in the near future. That's a disturbing amount of mileage. I found a 95 Carmaro, white with t tops, auto and 43,000 miles on it for $5,500. I would have jumped all over that but it was auto It was white too. After driving a white Monte Carlo, i've started to despise white. To make a long story short, just keep looking. 156,000 miles is a money pit to happen.
      Red 95 Trans Am: M6, Moroso CAI, Magnaflow, Spohn sway bars, back to life as of 2/15/10!!!
      SOLD- Kinda miss it
      94 Del Sol VTEC: 27 city/ 33 highway, knee deep in slowness
      SOLD- Good riddance!