Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• REAR END TROUBLE

Hey guys,
    My son has a 97 Firebird, with a 3:42 (I think that’s right) rear end, non-posi, with the Traction Control System, and we recently had the rear end bearings and seals replaced, as well as the rear wheel bearings. The “shade tree” mechanic that did the job, said that the gears looked ok. I looked at them and they did look ok, but I am not an expert, but he is supposed to be, since he is a retired mechanic from the Pontiac dealership. Anyway, before he did the job, the rear end had a high pitched roaring noise coming from the right rear, on acceleration, but now it has noise on deceleration. He said that it was because of the “old” gears, and that they would have to be replaced to completely get rid of the noise. What is strange, is how the rear end just started making this noise in the first place. We had the fluid checked whenever it started making the noise, and it was full, so that wasn’t the problem. So, does this story wash? First we are told that the gears look ok, and then, we are told that it’s the gears that are making the noise. Does this sound right, or did we just get ripped off? I didn’t think we were ever going to get the car back from this guy, so whatever we do from here on out, will be either be done by me or someone else. The bottom line is, what can be done to get rid of the noise?
    Any advice would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Bruce

Coming soon: A Firebird graphic opposite the Camaro graphic-

it sounds to me like the backlash(correct term?) is not set properly now..i read about it alot on a 4x4 forum i belong to..it usually happens after they have changed to differecent gears and they did not set them up properly..

Comment

try adding the GM limited slip diff. additive even though you claim it is not a limited slip diff. I don't think it would hurt to try it.