Newb - Looking at '98 Camaro

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newb - Looking at '98 Camaro

Hey guys (and gals). Looks like a great place! Perhaps you'd be able to shed some light on some issues. I'm currently driving a Grand Prix.. had it forever. I've been looking to retire it for awhile now. I came across a '98 Camaro just this weekend. Its the base model with the 3.8 auto. Before anyone jumps me, I'm honestly not looking for extreme performance. Insurance is also something I must consider, being a 21 year old male.

The car is bright red, t-tops, 78,000 miles. Dealer is asking $5990 for it. It does need a rear tail light. It almost looks like the car had been rear-ended at some point in time, but again, it is a GM vehicle. I don't think I've had a GM product yet that had perfectly aligned body panels. Nonetheless, I'm a GM kinda guy. I'm new to the F-bodies and rear-wheel drive all together. I've always owned the Wbody line.. Cutlass Supremes, Grand Prix's. It'll be interesting to see how well I take to the rear-wheel drive this winter if I pick up the car.

Anyway, on to the point; I've been reading that the '98 models have significant problems with the transmission. A valve of some sorts.. I don't recall the specifics right now. Last thing I need is additional expense. College has made me ungodly broke. Can anyone shed any light on this problem? Any other common problems I should look for on Monday?

I paid $500 more for a 97, with an LT1, less miles than that, mint condition, and a six speed. Has t-tops as well. 6 grand doesn't sound like that great of a deal to me. If I were looking at the car you described, I would offer the guy $4500, tops.

Scratch above, I paid way under blue book for mine... maybe 6K is a fair price? But there are much better deals out there than what you have found. Also, I hear that insurance is about the same with the 6 cylinder as with the 8. Talk to your agent.