Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aftermarket upgrade suggestions

i'm a newbie!
    i have a 2000 pontiac firebird 3800 A4, 51000 miles. i am wondering what kind of aftermarket is available for HP upgrades under $300. or if anyone knows any online whole-salers that i could get the parts cheap.
    also, where can i locate the TPS and what should i use to clean it?
    thanks
    2000 Firebird, midnight blue, chrome 5 spokes

no suggestions? i'm looking to get around 225-250 HP without going with a supercharger or turbo upgrade. any help is appreciated!

Comment

The basics are a good way to start. Good exhaust system, upgraded intake, shift kit, etc. As for the TPS sensor, its on the side of the throttle body. Should have a 2-wire lead coming off of it.
      Steve
      79 FSJ - most expensive AMC Jeep ever Mods
      87 GN - its just a 6... Mods
      93 Z28 - slightly tweaked Mods
      http://home.comcast.net/~budlopez

Comment

Originally posted by Steve93Z
        The basics are a good way to start. Good exhaust system, upgraded intake, shift kit, etc. As for the TPS sensor, its on the side of the throttle body. Should have a 2-wire lead coming off of it.
        cool deal. thanks! i was looking to do a performance chip, and a dual exhaust kit perhaps. right now all i have is a K&N filter.
        its hard going from a 1969 Firebird with a modded 350 to a 2000 3.8 Firebird. it pulls good for a V-6, that surprised me, but still.

Comment

I'm not sure if you can upgrade it to dual exhaust or not. If you mean dual tailpipes, then check out www.rksport.com as I have seen some aftermarket kits for the V6 F-body. As for the computer, I believe you will have to program it, as the chip cannot be removed. Yeah, the 6 pulls decently, but an 8 is always nice. What happened to the Firebird? Got any pics of it?
          Steve
          79 FSJ - most expensive AMC Jeep ever Mods
          87 GN - its just a 6... Mods