Exhaust do's and don'ts help needed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exhaust do's and don'ts help needed

I am new to the "computer controlled" V8 f-body for the record so please don't laugh if this is a silly question to you guys...

I am doing a 3.4 to LT1 swap. Our emission laws here are non-existant. NO INSPECTIONS AT ALL! Gotta' love it. So, the Q is can I run long tube headers and true dual exaust without cats in my '94 LT1 Camarao with out screwing up the ecm or do I have to stay put with the factory crossover style due to ecm issues?

I was told it has to stay the same due to back pressure and the ecm not reading properly. I do not have the utmost confidence in my source. Any input would be much appreciated guys. Thanks!
    There is no problem so great that cannot be resolved with the right amount of explosives!!!

'94 LT1/A4 Clone Stock (for now)
    '94 S10 Vortech 350/M5/Ford 8.8 Rear/3&3" Drop (shelved temporarily for the above clone)
    '09 Jeep Liberty (Her's)
    '99 Blazer (Mine)

Headers and exhaust mods will work just fine. I would still suggest using high flow catalytic converters. There really isn't a restriction, the exhaust won't stink as bad, and it would pollute less. Besides that, on the street the exhaust note can be a bit harsh without cats. True duals can be done, but it's a bit tight.

The EGR is what could be affected by the lack of back pressure, it needs just a little bit to function properly. Even that could be programmed out of the computer by a competant flash programmer.

Comment

i would defintaly have to second joe on that on defintaly run high flow cats. will only cost about 200-300 max and its sooo much better for the car
      94 V6 A4~~LT1 M6~~383 M6 13.1 @ 109 with a 2.1 60' Sold/Stripped
      94 Z28 383 A4 Sold
      75 Chevy~~~~ SOLD
      1992 Convertable RS 305/700r4 <<<Just a Beater
      GOT PSi?
      Good Cause Your Gonna Need It!!!

Comment